‘Banning the bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Black Diamond Death’ by Cheryl Bradshaw (Sloane Monroe series boxed set)

Okay, okay. Simmer down! I know you’re all dying to see what I have for you this Sunday, but still… 😉

Sheesh, you’re like a Halloween cauldron bubbling over; all green gloop, bobbing blood-shot eyeballs and frogs legs! Speaking of Halloween, make sure that you check back next Sunday for a scary special edition spook-fest on BtB!

I ♥ Halloween!

I also heart people telling it like it is. Enough with the crap already!

Welcome to a pre-Halloween Banning the bullshit Sunday

Alrighty then. What have I got in my locker for today?

Wait for it… *raps index fingers on desk in a poor attempt at a drumroll*

“Cathryn! Stop fidgeting and listen!” 😉

Well, in true BtB style, it is my heinous and cunning plan to lull you into a false sense of security ready for next week with a squishy, cosy murder mystery!

Whaaaaa’? I hear you cry. Saffi has read a girlie murder mystery? No way!

Yes, way.

I downloaded the Sloane Monroe box set whilst it was free a couple of weeks ago and gave the first book a crack…

Here’s the box set for those of you that like a bargain:

Look, I’m going to be honest (after all, that’s why we’re here, right?), like last week, this type of book isn’t my bag, but I am a writer and writers have to read. It makes them better. It lets me know what else is doing well out there in the market and it shows me different styles and levels of writing. Writers learn from reading, no matter how good or bad it is.

So what did I think of Black Diamond?

Well, I was pleasantly surprised.

I read the blurb first and though, hmmmn, not sure I am going to enjoy this. Not because the blurb isn’t good, far from it. More because I am a serious blood and guts kinda gal and I knew this would be a mystery with a romantic element: Heavier on the gush than the gore if you get my drift.

“IN A PANIC I GASPED FOR AIR, BUT THERE WASN’T ANY. I TRIED TO CRY OUT, BUT I WAS ALONE, AND IN MY HYSTERIA IT HIT ME. I HAD FELT A SIMILAR FEELING BEFORE–LIKE MY BODY WAS GIVING OUT ON ME, AND I KNEW WHAT IT MEANT. I WAS DYING.”

Enter the world of Sloane Monroe in Black Diamond Death…

A SKIER CRASHES

On the slopes of Park City, Utah’s newest ski resort a woman is found dead. At first glance, it has all the makings of an accident. The victim, Charlotte Halliwell, collided with a tree as she schussed her way to the bottom of the hill. But what if her death wasn’t an accident at all–what if she was murdered?

A SISTER IS ON A MISSION

In Black Diamond Death, Audrey Halliwell faces a problem: finding someone who believes her story.

Enter Private Investigator Sloane Monroe.

When Audrey marches into Sloane’s office with claims her sister’s death was no accident Sloane is skeptical at first, but agrees to take the case. With little to go on, she questions the people in Charlotte’s life and discovers Parker Stanton, a jilted ex-fiancé with plenty to hide, and as the son of a prominent businessman, he will go to any lengths to protect his secrets.

A SECOND BODY IS FOUND

Just as Sloane feels she’s close to solving the case she stumbles on another dead body and is forced to re-examine the clues from the beginning, but she must tread lightly. With the killer aware that Sloane will stop at nothing to find him, her life is in danger and her every move is being tracked. Will Sloane uncover the truth before he strikes again?

Good hook right? I imagine that if this type of book was your thang, then you wouldn’t hesitate pressing the buy button. And believe me, lots of you do. Cheryl Bradshaw is a best-seller.
There were some major plus-points to this book:
  • The MC is a PI instead of the usual detective – good call!
  • She is a likeable character
  • The editing is good
  • It’s easy to read
  • It does exactly what it says on the tin

What more could you ask for?

Cheryl could never be sued under the Trade Descriptions Act (or whatever the American equivalent is).

She promises a murder mystery thriller with twists and turns, with a little lovin’ thrown in. And that’s what she delivers.

It was also, not quite as cute and cozy as I expected.

A pretty good read all round.

She also has a pretty cool site. Check it out here.

In summary, you won’t go far wrong with one of these books. Can’t say fairer than that.

Anyho’, it’s time for me to get back to my own stuff and start preparing a haunting Halloween hullabaloo for you BtBers for next week.

Until then, you know what to do.

Saffi

 

Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in books, writing
2 comments on “‘Banning the bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Black Diamond Death’ by Cheryl Bradshaw (Sloane Monroe series boxed set)
  1. cherylbradshaw says:

    Thanks for having me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,312 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 48,574 hits