‘Banning the bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Criminal’ by Karin Slaughter

Okay BtB’ers, this one is gonna be short and sweet!

I am currently sunning myself (well, I have caught the odd glimpse of something round and yellow in the Newquay sky, but hey, we came for the surf …) on holiday and taking a well-earned break before the release of our new novel, Rapunzel so forgive me for being blunt:

Criminal‘ by Karin Slaughter is brilliant, so buy it!

THE END.

N’aww, fooled you! 😉

Seriously though, I haven’t got much time, so I will get straight to the point.

I am a huge fan of Karin Slaughter and have been ever since I read Kisscut. Having read the likes of Cornwell (as in Patricia) and Kathy Reichs, I wasn’t sure what to expect from Karin… I wasn’t disappointed.

After being introduced to Kisscut, I then went back and read Blindsighted and have followed the Grant County series eversince.

I’ll tell you right now – I love Sara Linton.

Yup, after years of vowing allegiance to Scarpetta, it felt rather Iscariot-esque actually warming to another Chief Medical Examiner. Especially one that didn’t cook! But warm to Linton I did and I have followed her and her tumultous relationship with ex/not-ex husband and Chief of Police, Jeffrey Tolliver eversince.

Triptych was the first of the Atlanta series that I read and there I was introduced to Will Trent. It is probably my favourite of all the Slaughter books to date and Trent is one of my favourite characters. Mind you, I also love and have a solid respect for Lena Adams, who we hear more from in A faint cold fear, but my absolute fave is and always has been, Amanda Wagner.

In 2009 Slaughter pulled a genious move. She brought the characters from Atlanta over to the Grant County series. Will et al end up crossing paths with Dr Linton & co and find their lives infinitely intertwined. Good move Karin Slaughter!

From thereonin, relationships grew and characters took on a new light, not least Amanda Wagner in the latest offering Criminal.

Here’s the blurb:

The past will always find you.

A woman is found brutally murdered in a sordid Atlanta apartment.

Her blood-soaked body bears a startling similarity to a woman found dead almost 40 years earlier.

Soon Special Agent Will Trent finds himself returning to the home he grew up in. And a past that could hold the clue to the killings .

 In this installment, not only do we find out more about Will’s past, but we start to see why Wagner squishes mens’ dangly bits like most Senior Officers use stress balls and actually start to like her. Well, I have always liked her, but that’s because I too don’t have access to a stress ball… 😉
Slaughter for me, is definitely up there with the great crime series writers of the last ten years and unlike others, she continues to go from strength to strength. Maybe the cross-pollination of series was her saving grace.
Actually, it’s a really good idea. Maybe we’ll try it sometime. In fact, we might go one better and cross genres too! I wonder what would happen if Pippa had to defend a vampire in court??? Hmmn…
Well, can’t stop. There’s a clotted cream scone and jam with my name on it and a wonderful fresh seafood restaurant has a table for four awaiting our presence.
Have fun tomorrow BtB’ers – getting up on a Monday morning! 😉 Oh and don’t step in anything sloppy whilst I’m away…
Saffi
Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in books, writing

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,312 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 48,574 hits