‘Banning the Bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Others’ by James Herbert

OK, so last week, I said that Dean Koontz was odd, or rather, Odd in his books was odd.

I stand by that.

Then I remembered someone else odd…

Oh, yeah, sorry! Hiya and Happy Sunday. It’s that time of the week again folks…

Right, that’s the introductions outta the way, now back to oddness.

I was talking to a friend of mine the other day about books and favourite writers. We share similar literary tastes and have recently read quite a lot of the same books at the same time and discussed them at length. Some time ago, I put him on to Shaun Hutson and he enjoyed those (yes, he is a weird as I am!) so I was racking my brains to think of some more that he might like when I mentioned James Herbert.

Now James Herbert was MASSIVE in the Eighties and Nineties, not so much now, but in talking about him, I noticed that some of his books have started to appear in the Amazon charts again at daft prices, so my friend bought some.

I have read just about every James Herbert has written, twice.

I loved Rats, Domain and Lair and some of the stand-alone books like Fluke, The Fog and my all-time fave JH book, The Magic Cottage.

If you ignore everything else I write (which I am sure most do) then please, give this one a go. I promise, you’ll love it!

A lot of his titles have been made into films, some more succesfully than others I might add, so for those of you who aren’t familiar with his writing, you may have seen a movie and not realised that it was based on his books. I have also seen an advert on UK TV recently for The Secret of Crickely Hall, so it must have been made into a TV program, hence the reason his books are starting to appear in the charts once more.

The book I am featuring today is ‘Others’.

It has recently hit the Amazon UK Top 100 and at £0.20p, is a must-buy, but don’t take my word for it, see for yourself:

‘It sounded easy. Find a missing kid. Eighteen years old. Only he was dead. Died at birth. So why was his mother so sure he was still alive? Alive and calling for help. The assignment took me to Hell. And that’s where I’d come from, only I didn’t know it at the time. Matter of fact, there were a lot of things I didn’t know about myself. I just thought I was different, not the kind you’d expect to be a private investigator. But I was wrong. Like I’d been wrong for most of my uncharmed life. Because I was more than that. And the answers were coming, coming fast and they scared me shitless. Murder, mutilation, depravity and horrors that almost OTHERS at Perfect Rest and every thought I had about life itself changed. It’s a story you might hate. Because it’s too close to the real truth. And it might frighten you so badly you will never sleep in an unlit room again. But it’ll make you think. I promise you that. I only hope it won’t make you think too much. Because that’s when the nightmares will begin. Yeah, that’s when everything will change. Your choice.’

Come on, don’t tell me you don’t want to read this book? You’d be lying. That would just be a big  brown, smouldering pile of *******! 😉

Get it now. I mean, it’s twenty pence! What else can you buy for twenty pence? (seriously, what can you buy for twenty pence!???)

Do yourself a favour and let some Brit’ horror into your lives!

It’s a rather short one today on BtB and there’s a reason for that. Yesterday, we ran a feature on the official Saffina Desforges blog. Should you be so inclined and are the slightest bit interested in what we’re up to, go here.

TTFN. Watch that…! Ah, too late. Until next week…

Saffi

Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in books, writing

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,312 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 48,574 hits