‘Banning the bullshit Sunday’: ‘I am the Gloryhunter’ by Spencer Austin

Now, never let it be said that I am one to spout crap. Afterall, that’s the whole point of this blog, right?

Keep away from the sloppy, mud-coloured stuff. BAN the BULLSHIT!

So, before some troll jumps onto the bandwagon, let me get a few things straight.

1. I know the person who wrote this book

2. I happen to be in this book

3. None of the above stops it being a good book

Okay? Are we good? Great, let’s get down to business then.

As the sun sets on Britain’s greatest summer of sport and people try to get their lives back to normal after the Olympics, we’re all feeling a little deflated.

2012 has had quite some billing for the past two or three years and now that the main events are over, I for one, feel like someone has come along with a great big, eff-off pin and stuck it right through the centre of my balloon – with venom.

So what do we do now?

Well, there is one saving grace – football is back! Yay. Phew! 😉

For those of you who read this blog regularly, it is no great secret that I am a huge football fan. The other thing you will notice, is that I don’t do non-fiction.

Nothing wrong with it, just not my cuppa, but today, I am going to break one of my own rules.

Meet Spencer Austin.

Oops, wrong Spencer Austin! 😉 (he wishes!)

No, seriously, meet THE Spencer Austin.

You might just recognise the dubious-looking character to Spencer’s right in the sliding picture at the top of this page… 😉

By his own admission, Spencer is a twonk. He doesn’t deny it, in fact, it’s his MO. It makes him who he is.

Waaaay back in early 2008, I read a local newspaper article about some Southern geek that had rather a novel idea for a web-diary and book. ITV had funded said geek’s project and he was heading to my home town. Why? Watch this: (once again, you might just recognise a mad-woman from Grimsby!)

 

Spencer had (foolishly) decided that instead of supporting his beloved Spurs, he was going to pull a random football team out of the hat and follow that team until they lost, then follow the team that they lost to, and so on…

It was actually a pretty cool idea for a book.

Spencer pulled my beloved GTFC out first and in a bizarre twist of fate, I ended up meeting him, going to his first game and then making him come for a thrashing/battering/lesson in football with the ladies team I played for at the time. There is some video footage of this incident somewhere, but he keeps it well-hidden!

Anyway, Spencer spent the whole of the 2008-2009 season up and down the UK following the teams that were victorious, taking glory hunting to a whole new level and meeting some unforgettable characters along the way.

“There is only one Spencer Austin.” There is only ONE Gloryhunter.

If you only ever spend a fiver on a book once, spend it on this.

(Disclaimer: I have no financial association with this book. I wasn’t even a writer when I met Spencer. I’m not even sure I’m one now!)

I am the Gloryhunter

It’s also available in paperback here.

You don’t have to love sport or football to love this book, I promise. It’s just one man’s story of a quest for glory and what happened along the way…

Well, that’s it for another week.

You know the rest…

Saffi

Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in writing

Leave a Reply

