‘Banning the Bullshit’ Sunday: ’11th Hour’ By James Patterson (Women’s Murder Club)

Ok, so who knew ‘Banning the Bullshit’ would be so popular? Hands up.

I started this blog after getting sick of reading the usual steaming piles of doo-doo that other authors were filling their pages with.

The ‘ooh, look at me, aren’t I wonderful‘ blogs, the ‘let me spout off about how to become an awesome-sauce indie writer, even though I’ve only sold 350 books since I started in 1985’ ramblings and the ever-popular and equally spew-worthy ‘let’s have a go at indie/traditionally published writers (delete as appropriate, depending on whether you got a deal or not) and slag off agents/moan about not having an agent’ regurgitation.

Yuk. *shudders*

Now, don’t get me wrong, we’ve all done it and we’re all guilty of it somewhere along the line, but I wanted a place where none of that existed. Where all we talked about was books and whether we liked them or not. It seems, so did you lot.

The Sunday I did my first BtB blog, I would be lucky if one hundred people a month dropped by to this particular page. Now? Well, over 500 of you BtB’ers stopped by on Wednesday this week alone!

Cool huh? OK, so it’s hardly up there with the stats that the uber-bloggers get, but I am over the moon with it and it tells me something:

We don’t like the brown stuff. 😉 (It also scares me a little bit that a page that frequently talks about ablutions is so popular, but hey, I’ll take it)

Anyway, without further ado and before I am in danger of relegating myself to the depths that this very blog strives so hard to keep its toes out of, let’s talk shop.

James Patterson.

Uh-huh. Good, ole JP.

Scary-looking spud isn’t he?

Love him or loathe him, you can’t ignore him. The guy has been churning out best-sellers like some of the girls in my home town on the more dubious housing estates churn out kids, at a frightening rate and for some time now. As soon as you put one down, another one pops up.

Today, I am looking at the latest offering from the Women’s Murder Club series: 11th Hour.

“What’s so great about these books then, Saffi?”

In a word: EVERYTHING.

They’ve got it all.

Killer openers, short chapters and white space, fast-paced action scenes, great, believable dialogue and characters that you care about and want to read more of. Oh and there’s always a baddie with a totally cool name.

Every book in this series is a ‘How to write a grab you by the furry bits and drag you along for the ride‘ writers’ manual. The guy nailed it.

Ok, so these days he spits one out every two or three weeks and its clear that he writes less and less of them himself, but you know what? It’s his formula, so it still works. We ignore the sometimes-confusing POV shifts and repetition of speech and we look past the horrendous price tag that would keep the girls I mentioned earlier in Lambrini for a week, because we just can’t help ourselves.

Me included. I am almost done with this book, have speed-read it over three nights after writing. Love it.

So there you have it. I can’t promise you a literary masterpiece or a book that will stay in your head and your heart for all time, but what you will get is a quick read and the feeling that someone has super-glued your fingers and eyes to the page/screen, whichever your preference (we don’t discriminate here).

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right? Keep ’em coming Mr. P.

Saffi

Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in writing
3 comments on “‘Banning the Bullshit’ Sunday: ’11th Hour’ By James Patterson (Women’s Murder Club)
  1. *giggles* He’s not at all cary looking to me. Probably because I grew up with a bunch of weathered New Englanders, whom he looks remarkable similar to. *grins*

    But I can’t say I’ve read any of his books…then again I haven’t really read many Thrillars (if any, my mind is drawing a blank).

    Which is probably why Sugar and Spice is still waiting on my Kindle for me to get up enough guts to read it. :}

  2. They were discussing him and this book on The Book Report radio show last week, and I think the host(Elaine) said he’s written 71 novels in 33 years…that’s some hectic writing speed! Also gave some other interesting stats about him and read a piece out of the audiobook (think I’ll stick to reading this one myself)-if you’re interested, you can listen to the archived show on their site-bookreportradio(dot)com-where you can also find the stations that air the show. Nice for picking out the reads that have personal appeal. Haven’t read this one yet, but agreed that they’re usually a good read. Thanks for the great writing and keep going with the BtB blogging! 😉

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,312 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 48,574 hits