‘Banning the bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Growth’ by Karin Cox

Did somebody say the ‘S’ word? S…sss…Sunday?

AND, are we Banning the Bullshit? Hell yeah!

To steal an uber-awesome line from the mega-talented (Jees, I love my hyphenated words) Passenger, “It’s braille for the deaf and a signpost for the blind”.   Over here, Guv’nor. See? NO shite.

 I swear by almighty God that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

I swear by Allah that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

I swear by the Gita that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

I swear by almighty God that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

I swear by Guru Nanak that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth

I do solemnly, sincerely and truly declare and affirm that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth

I being one of the people called Quakers (United Brethren called Moravians) do solemnly, sincerely and truly declare and affirm that the evidence I shall give shall be the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

I swear by Almighty God that I will well and faithfully interpret and make true explanation of all such matters and things as shall be required of me according to the best of my skill and understanding.

Have I missed anyone out? Nah, didn’t think so. 😉 Complaints on a postcard to… Mark Williams 😉 (and yes, he does still exist and no, he hasn’t been eaten by crocs)

So, enough of the procrastination (which, btw, is not bullshit) and onto the main event.

Poetry.

Yup, you heard right. Poems. aka: Poetry (from the Greek “poiesis” — “ποίησις” — with a broad meaning of a “making”, seen also in such terms as “hemopoiesis“; more narrowly, the making of poetry) is a form of literary art which uses the aesthetic qualities of language to evoke meanings in addition to, or in place of, the prosaic ostensible meaning.

This is a first for BtB, so enjoy.

‘Growth’ by Karin Cox. Here’s the blurb:

If the poet’s job is to provide a reflection of an entire world in a single teardrop, Karin Cox’s haunting anthology, Growth, does so admirably.This collection of her finest poems—some previously published in anthologies around the world, others new; some rhyming, some free form—delivers beautiful sentiments, melancholy moments and some delightfully lyrical figurative language, all the while charting the poet’s personal growth over several years.While introspective, Karin’s work avoids self-obsession by interspersing political and broader global themes with the personal. What results is a whimsical anthology that brings to mind the challenges of just being human and fitting into a world that sometimes feels like a tight squeeze.A must-read for lovers of the English language and a wonderful gift for poetry aficionados, Growth will continue to bloom in the reader’s mind long after the last page has been turned.
 

Oh, and here’s a little teaser:

Cool, huh?

So, I’ll say it again: What are you waiting for? *shrugs*

*sigh* Epic, right? Sooooooo, money supermarket. 😉

Saffi
Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in writing
5 comments on “‘Banning the bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Growth’ by Karin Cox
  1. Charley R says:

    Yay poetry! And I do love your Declaration of No Bullshittery – love the multicultural touch, lol!

    Glad to hear His Markness lives yet, too. Better get those St Mall’s chapters done before he sets the aforementioned crocs on me xD

    Awesome Sunday day-brightener as usual 🙂

    • Glad to be of service Ms Robson! And yes, Master Williams will be cracking that whip from afar no doubt.
      Write on. 😉

      • Charley R says:

        On the case!

      • (And if he doesn’t can always threaten her with no response to e-mails until she does *giggles*)

        And before my tired brain goes patuie… Our Quakers tend to like to call themselves ‘The Religious Society of Friends’… The strange things I learn reading blogs of you people across the pond…. *grins*

  2. […] ‘Banning the bullshit’ Sunday: ‘Growth’ by Karin Cox (sapphicscribe.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookMoreDiggEmail […]

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,312 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 48,574 hits