To sparkle or not to sparkle??

Well hello again!

It is Friday and the weekend is upon us, how wonderful! 😉

Now, I know that it is unusual, but I have a dilemma!

Obviously, when writing a book, especially something fictional, one has to make sure that not only are the facts correct, but that the target audience are going to be happy with what you write! I am really struggling with certain aspects of Equilibrium….namely, what can vampires these days do and not do!??

Over the last twenty years or so, the public love affair with vampires has grown phenomenally (although I expect it always existed, but was somewhat ‘underground’ if you pardon the pun!) but with it has come certain arguments: Can they survive drinking synthetic/animal blood? Do they still need inviting into your house? Can you see them in mirrors and photos? Do they sleep in coffins? etc.

Writing fiction obviously gives you the room to stretch these concepts and I have spoken about them before on my blog, but in doing my research for this book, I cannot help but continue to trip over the slating that Stephenie Meyer is getting over the ‘sparkly’ issue.

So, I need some help.

It’s a simple question: Can vampires go out in the day light or not?

Is it acceptable for them to venture out on days where it isn’t sunny? I am asking my vamp friends for their opinion on this and hope that the answer will aid me with the writing of my book.

Have a wonderful weekend, wherever you are.

Saffy. xx

PS. This is a COMPLETELY random tedious link, but check out Katy Perry’s new song: Teenage Dream.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wK-shCo0AY

Let’s go all the way tonight
No regrets, just love
We can dance, until we die
You and I, will be young forever

Kinda appropriate don’tcha think? 😉 x

Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “To sparkle or not to sparkle??
  1. My thoughts:

    Although I am not a vampire expert or fanatic, I do think there are certain rules that should be followed. I think the most important thing to remember is not to contradict any major commonly believed traits (i.e., immortality, dying in sunlight, etc.). I think you should have complete creative freedom with any additional traits you may want to give them. I have to say, although I love True Blood, it did bother me that in a recent episode we see Sookie looking through a photo album with pictures of her and Bill…ahem, vampires aren’t supposed to be seen in mirrors or cameras. However, they have created a very convincing world where most commonly accepted vampire traits are still followed, yet take some liberties with the minor details, thus less noticeable or contraversy worthy.

    As a writer, I say “Do what you want!” If you’re a good enough writer, no one will care. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi and thank you for your thoughts and comments. I agree with you 100%. It is crucial to not over look the basic rules and I think it would alienate the ‘die-hard’ vamp fans to an extent to do so. Have a great weekend too! Saff. x

  2. melinda:)xoxo says:

    Hello again my dear Saff! I must say that I wholeheartedly agree with whippedtopping… now there is a sentence I thought I would never say, LOL!!! But WT and I are of the same opinion when it comes to writing fiction, say what you will, have free creative licensing to write your book your way. I know that is not a definitive answer to your questions, but dammit, I’ll say what I want, LOL!! Seriously though, if Miss Meyer can sparkle up her vamps to dazzle the eye, then I say vamps can do cartwheels down main street on a very “sunny” day drinking “synthetic” blood, all before sneaking into your house “uninvited”, sprucing up a bit in the “mirror” for some last minute touches, then lovingly slipping into “bed” with you for some much needed cuddling and fun time before snoozy time… but one thing you cannot deviate on- vampy or vampette must be devastatingly, mesmerizinly gorgeous. In the words of David Zoolander, really, really, ridiculously good looking. Other than that, it’s all up to you baby. Most of the vampire mythos rules and regulations from years gone past had more to do with religion anyways, not being able to see themselves because they have no soul and cannot stand the sight, sizzling in daylight because they are of the darkness, drinking human blood because as the undead they cursed to live off the living, etc… it seems modern day vamp tales are moving away from the religious aspect so it gives you more freedom as an author to create new and innovative worlds and characterizations for them. Oh, and fangs, they must have fangs… what is a vampire without fangs, I ask of you? Not a very good vampire! Two tried and true musts… sexy vamps with two very sharp teeth to take the plunge if that’s the way they role. That’s all I’ma say about it!

    Your vamp loving friend (vamps of all nature, sparkly, drinking animal or synthetic blood, what have you)… a vamp discriminator I am not ( unless they don’t have fangs, blah, LOL!)

    Melinda:)xoxo

    • haha! Wonderful reply as always Melinda! I do look forward to your little tales. hehe. So, it seems to be unanimous then, basically, my vamps (and angels) can pretty much do as they damn well please! Cool, then that’s exactly what they WILL do! Thanks girls! 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,312 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 48,574 hits