Just gonna stand there and watch me burn?

Hi,

I heard Rihanna and Eminem’s song on the way home today in the car and it struck me how wonderfully it would fit with a scene in Equilibrium.

The haunting opening/chorus ….”Just gonna stand there and watch me burn? Well that’s alright because I love the way it hurts. Just gonna stand there and hear me cry? Well that’s alright because I love the way you lie…”

It immediately gave me an idea for the opening lines to the synopsis I am so desperately trying to write (start!?).

Have you ever tried to drive and write at the same time? Not something I would ever recommend, but I was so overwhelmed with the forcefulness by which the words hit me, that I had to write them down before I forgot.  Thanks to my new-found Archangel Mark Williams (check out his blog too by the way http://miltonkeyneswriter.wordpress.com/) , I now carry a piece of paper and a pen with me wherever I go…just in case.

The love that Jessie shares with Gabrielle in Equilibrium leaves me breathless at times and that thought lent itself to the words that etched themselves into my brain this evening:

Synopsis opening:

From time to time love can hurt, really hurt.

Now and again,  it might just kill you.

Every so often,  it is a choice between living and dying.

And sometimes,  just sometimes, even dying won’t set you free.

*******************

Saffy. xx


Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Just gonna stand there and watch me burn?
  1. melinda:)xoxo says:

    Great song!!! Music is always a wonderful way to gain inspiration. Good song to accompany a lovers quarrel in your novel. Promo trailers for novels are huge right now and becoming more popular. It will be so much fun to make and have your own when your book is published. Perhaps this song can be a part of it… limitless options baby, the sky’s the limit!

    Melinda:)xoxo

    • Hey Melinda,

      Absolutely agree! I often hear a song and think where it would fit into a scene from the book. It has been mentioned that once nearing completion, it might be a good idea to get a promo trailer out on youtube or something. Just got to find someone to make it! haha. Anyway, thanks as always for reading and spreading the word, much appreciated my friend… xx

Leave a Reply

