‘Banning the Bullshit’ Sunday: ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King

Woooft! It’s been a busy old week this week (and no, nothing to do with my role in Halloween!) and as usual, there’s been a fair amount of absolute crapola spattering the web waves. Let’s face it: when isn’t there?

So what are we gonna do about it?

Well, that one’s quite straight forward…

Yup, you guessed it, the only way to side-step the shite, is to not allow it!

So this week’s BtB is pretty darn straight forward.

Stephen King’s On Writing.

I’m going to show you a picture.

Then, I’m going to link to a blog post that I did waaaaaaaay back when.

And after that, you can come back and tell me that you understand me. Capiche?

Picture:

Waaaaaay back when blog post (click me, your computer will not explode)

Are you still with me? Good.

See. It’s easy this no rubbish stuff.

Picture = my bookshelf today.

Waaaaaay back when blog post = my bookshelf a year ago.

What do they have in common? Stephen King’s book.

A writers’ bible if ever there was one.

I read that book when I didn’t even know I was a writer.

I’ve come out since then. “Hello, my name is Saffi and I’m a w…w…*deep breath* writer!”

Why did I read it? Well, one, because I would have read insults scrawled on used toilet roll back in those days if someone told me that Stephen King had written them and two, because I guess I kinda knew I was a writer, (is that Step 3 or Step 4?) but mostly, because it’s brilliant and how could it not be?

It teaches you things about writing without you even realising it and even if you aren’t a writer and have no intentions of ever being one (those 14.2 people in the world who haven’t got a book in them and don’t think it’d be a doddle to whip one up can wave their arms in the air at this point) it is a great read about how Mr K got to be an uber-famous (if not slightly strange-looking) scribe.

And…well, actually, that’s it.

There is no and.

*rollseyesandlooksaroundtheroomwhilstwhistling*

Right. Guess I’ll be off then. Once again, my work here is complete.

Steer clear… yada,yada,yada and all that.

Saffi

Writer, dreamer, pantser.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in books, writing
2 comments on “‘Banning the Bullshit’ Sunday: ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King
  1. Heh, this book was reccomende to me multiple times, once by a random person I met in a book store when I mentioned I was going to go look for it. Needless to say I bought it that day. I’ve read it, loved it (even if I don’t actually read King’s novels, lol).

    He’s got a sentence int there about letting the characters take over, the moment I read that I knew that yes, I was doing the right thing by pursuing this writing stuff. (even if some parts of me think I should have started sooner…) *grins*

    :} Cathryn

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,132 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 45,864 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,132 other followers